Teaching and learning is the bedrock of our school life. As a team, teaching staff work hard to ensure that we provide an outstanding curriculum which stimulates children's interest and engages them fully in the learning process.

Our Curriculum Map 

We have updated and redesigned our curriculum map, to create projects that will build on children's interests and capture their imaginations. To find out more about the curriculum within each year group, and about our Modern Foreign Language curriculum, click on the hyperlnks in the table below.  Year Group maps being updated SEPTEMBER 2018

Curriculum Map Overviews for each year group 2018 - 19
Reception              Robin Class
Year One                Nightingale Class

Year Two                Magpie Class

Year Three            Owl Class
Year Four              Finch Class
Year Five               Woodpecker Class
Year Six                 Blackbird Class
Modern Foreign Language KS2         French Curriculum Map Overview 2018-19
Artist Map for Art and Design            EYFS, KS1 and KS2  2018-19
Curriculum Enrichment Opportunities  2018-2019









All state maintained primary schools in England are required to use the Early Years Foundation Stage statutory framework and the National Curriculum when designing their curriculum.

Our curriculum map allows for the teaching of key skills, knowledge and understanding, built into cross-curricular themes. Each term has a focus project, which is usually weighted towards one or two areas of the curriculum. From this, teachers use the National Curriculum 'expected' learning objectives, as well as subject skills ladders, to plan natural links between other areas of the curriculum and the central theme. This planning is informed by the programmes of study contained within the EYFS and National Curriculum. It is also guided by children's existing knowledge and areas of interest,  in order to maximise the range of learning opportunities in which children can engage.


Early Years Foundation Stage

The planned learning experiences of the children in our Reception Class are set within the framework of theThe Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum, which sets the standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to five. Since September 2012, this covers seven areas of learning .

The prime areas are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development.

The four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied, are:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

Please see the document at the bottom of this page for further detail on the statutory requirements of the EYFS curriculum.

The National Curriculum

Since September 2014, we have been following the new National Curriculum 2014. This includes significant changes to what has to be taught in Maths and English, with a raising of expectations of what children should be able to achieved at the end of Y2, Y4 and Y6. 

For primary schools, this National Curriculum is divided into two stages:

Key Stage 1: Ages 5-7 (Years 1-2)
Key Stage 2: Ages 7-11 (Years 3-6)

The statutory subjects that all pupils must be taught at Key Stage 1 and 2 are divided intt core and foundation subjects.

Core subjects: English, Mathematics, Science

Foundation Subjects: Art and Design, Design and Technology, Geography, History, Computing, Music, Physical education and, at KS2, languages.  

Religious education must also be provided to all pupils on the school roll, unless withdrawn by their parents. As a Church of England VA School, we follow the locally agreed RE syllabus.

For each subject and for each key stage, programmes of study set out what pupils should be taught, including 'knowledge content', key skills and processes. In certain subjects (English and Maths), there are specific expectations for the skills and knowledge the children should have mastered by the end of the year, or by the end of a two year phase.

In addition to the statutory curriculum, we also teach non-statutory programmes of study for PSHE and Citizenship education across the school.

We have worked hard to ensure that our outstanding curriculum is broad and balanced, is centred around real experiences and involves children fully in the learning and review process. As teachers, we plan for a wide range of learning styles, so that all children can find a way in to their learning and can achieve.

You may also find these commercially produced  'guides for parents' about the new curriculum helpful.

Parent Guides to the the National Curriculum
Year One
Year Two
Year Three
Year Four
Year Five
Year Six






For further insights into special features of our curriculum, please click on the headings on the left-hand panel of this page.


To learn more about what happens in each class, on a termy basis, and how you can support your child with their learning, please click on the Classes tab at the top of this page.

  1. EYFS_framework_from_1_September_2014__with_clarification_note
  2. PRIMARY_national_curriculum_220714